The seeded riders starting from numbers 1 to 20 in the Junior Classic Race at the Classic TT presented by Bennetts have today been announced, with Paul Jordan starting at number 1 for the first time in his Isle of Man TT and Classic TT career.

Jordan, who took his maiden International Road Race victory at the Ulster GP yesterday, stands in for the injured Adam McLean on the AJS 7R with the highly successful Ripley Land Racing team. His senior teammate, Michael Rutter, will start from number 4 onboard the most popular bike in the field – a 350 Honda K4.

Second away in the small capacity class will be the returning Joey Thompson, onboard the sole John Chapman Racing Honda in the class. He’ll be followed by one of the two CSC Racing Hondas, with Michael Sweeney away at number 3 in his first appearance in the class. He’s joined in the CSC Racing team by Maria Costello, who starts the 4-lap race from number 7.

Craig Neve lines up at number 5 onboard the JK Construction Honda, making a return to the TT Mountain Course having missed the TT due to injuries sustained at the North West 200. The newly crowned Irish Superbike champion, Derek Shiels, will start ten seconds later on the Greenhall Racing Honda.

Last year’s runner up starts at number 8, with Jamie Coward onboard the Ted Woof/Craven Honda. Only ten seconds separated Coward and race winner Dominic Herbertson in the 2018 encounter and the same margin will separate them from the start-line, as Herbertson starts from number 9 on the Davies Motorsport Honda.

Chris Swallow is the first of the out-and-out classic racing specialists in the field, riding the only 350 Velocette in the class. He starts from number 10 and will be hoping to improve on the disappointment of a DNF in 2018.

Further names from the classic racing scene feature in the top 20, with Alan Oversby (Pipe Worx Exhausts Honda), Hefyn Owen (Owen Racing Honda), Alex Sinclair (Fox Classic Racing), Bill Swallow (Gleve Racing/John Poyner Honda) and Steve Ferguson (RJP Racing Honda) all lining up on machines they will be familiar with in contrast to their TT contemporaries.

Lee Johnston, winner of the race back in 2014 and cover star of the 2019 Festival of Motorcycling Programme, will start from his usual number 13 and forms arguably the strongest team in the class with Herbertson for the Davies Motorsport outfit.

Rob Hodson will start from number 19 on the Geoff Bates Racing Honda, and the top 20 is concluded by road racing’s fastest dentist, Richard Wilson, on board the Chris Hughes Racing Honda.

The complete top twenty is as follows: 

  1. Paul Jordan – Ripley Land Racing, AJS
  2. Joey Thompson – John Chapman Racing, Honda
  3. Michael Sweeney – CSC Racing, Honda
  4. Michael Rutter – Ripley Land Racing, Honda
  5. Craig Neve – JK Construction, Honda
  6. Derek Sheils – Greenall Racing, Honda
  7. Maria Costello – CSC Racing, Honda
  8. Jamie Coward – Ted Woof/Craven Honda, Honda
  9. Dominic Herbertson – Davies Motorsport, Honda
  10. Chris Swallow – PKP/Bladon Enterprises/Hall Green, Velocette
  11. Alan Oversby – Pipe Werx Exhausts, Honda
  12. Danny Webb – Dunnell Racing, Norton
  13. Lee Johnston – Davies Motorsport, Honda
  14. Hefyn Owen – Owen Racing, Honda
  15. Alex Sinclair – Fox Classic Racing, Honda
  16. David Madsen-Mygdal – Team Gimbert Racing, Honda
  17. Bill Swallow – Gleve Racing/John Poyner, Honda
  18. Steve Ferguson – RJP Racing, Honda
  19. Rob Hodson – Geoff Bates Racing, Honda
  20. Richard Wilson – Chris Hughes Racing, Honda

For further information about Classic TT activities across the Classic TT weekend, visit the Festival Pages.

Tickets for the 2019 Classic TT are now on sale via the Official website including Official Grandstand Tickets, VIP Hospitality Experiences, and Official Entertainment Events including the Counterfeit Stones Classic TT Party Performance. You can stay up to date with all the latest Classic TT news by subscribing to the Official Isle of Man TT Races Newsletter.

Images courtesy of Dave Kneen / Pacemaker Press

Author: IOM TT Races Official