Forging New Heroes

Peter Hickman and Dean Harrison join Michael Dunlop as the men to beat as lap records tumble

Although Michael Dunlop won three Races in 2018 – the Superbike, Lightweight and Supersport 1 - the meeting signalled the arrival of two new stars at the front of the field – Dean Harrison and Peter Hickman who took the races to unprecedented heights.

Dunlop opened up with a Superbike victory, and followed up with victory in the first Supersport Race while Dean Harrison followed that taking the honours in the second Supersport race but the pair were eclipsed by Hickman whose stunning victory in the Superstock Race – his maiden win – was merely a precursor to a sensational Senior Race that saw him pass Harrison on the last lap with a new lap record of 135.452.

John McGuinness has missed both the 2017 and 2018 TT following his accident at the North West 200 and his return to the TT is much anticipated, but he will find the races a different proposition to when he last tackled the TT Mountain Course with a new generation of stars set to take the Races to ever greater heights as it heads for the 100th race meeting in 2019.