Michael Dunlop followed in the footsteps of father Robert and Uncle Joey when he claimed his maiden Isle of Man TT victory in the second Relentless Supersport Race of 2009.

Riding his privately entered Street Sweep/Marlow Construction Yamaha, Dunlop showed scant regard for the damp conditions and was never headed, coming home 31 seconds ahead of Bruce Anstey and Conor Cummins.

Heavy rain and hail on the west side of the Island had resulted in a three and a quarter hour delay and when the race did get underway, the course was still very damp with lack of adhesion flags shown for a third of the whole course, from Appledene at mile 6 to Ballaugh at mile 17.

Dunlop took control from the start though and led Cummins by 10-seconds after the opening lap. The gap went up to 15-seconds second time around, a lap at an average speed of 122.692mph an indication of the improving conditions.

Cummins and Anstey were up to second and third but a superb pit stop saw Dunlop’s advantage soar even higher. With a final lap of 125.077mph, he took his first TT victory by 31 seconds. The win came 11 years after father Robert’s last win in the 1998 125cc Race and nine years after Joey’s win in the same class in 2000.

Anstey got the verdict over Cummins by just 0.71-seconds whilst Steve Plater set the fastest lap of the race, 125.384mph, on his final lap to take fourth, also making it four different manufacturers in the top four. Ian Hutchinson and Ian Lougher completed the top six.