24 TT Supertwin Preview


Of all the classes at the Isle of Man TT Races, the Supertwins have proven to be the most unpredictable in recent years, with both reliability playing a decisive role in the results and the more evenly-matched machinery allowing rising stars to showcase their talent.

Nevertheless, it’s still been the regular names of Dunlop and Hickman taking the honours in recent years. Having shared the spoils since 2018, they will doubtless line up as favourites once again.

Paton-mounted, Dunlop has taken three wins in that period and set the outright lap record of 122.750mph which, despite the glorious conditions and record-breaking pace of TT 2023, is a record that was set back in 2018,

Hickman took his first Supertwin victory in 2022 onboard a Paton, and added a second last year on his own PHR Performance Yamaha R7. He continues with the same machine in 2024 and will feel more than confident having won both races at the recent North West 200.

Two of their closest challengers should be the Kawasaki-mounted duo of Davey Todd and Jamie Coward, the latter having taken two podiums in the class which includes runner up to Dunlop in 2019 just over 1 second adrift. Todd, meanwhile, has little form on a Supertwin having retired in his only outing in 2019, but his Dafabet machine is one of the strongest bikes in the field, run by three-time class winners RC Express.

The Bristol-based team fielded Josh Brookes last year as he took his first TT podium, but he switches manufacturer this year, instead riding for the Rev2Race Yamaha team where he’ll be joined by another former podium finisher in the class, Paul Jordan. Both will be expecting to be back on the podium at minimum, as will 2017 race winner Michael Rutter in the familiar black and gold colours of Bathams Racing who marks 30 years since his TT debut on another R7

The Italian Paton machine is still seen by many to be the bike to beat though. Rob Hodson with SMT, VAS Engine Racing team-mates Stefano Bonetti and Pierre-Yves Bian (who took second last year), Dominic Herbertson riding for Burrow's and Manxman Joe Yeardsley riding for Ian Lougher’s ILR outfit, they certainly have in strength in depth.

A major threat for a different Italian manufacturer comes in the shape of Ireland’s Mike Browne who rides the Scott Racing Aprilia this time around. He took second in the opening race last year on a Paton and was leading the second race before retiring, so will be hoping fortune smiles on him this time around.

As well as Yeardsley, the Isle of Man have another strong runner in Michael Evans, with the Santon rider already having two top ten finishes to his name. The Supertwin class is always the one where Barry Furber (DC Autos Newtown Yamaha) excels with a superb sixth place coming his way in 2023.

Aprilia are further represented by Michael Sweeney, Julian Trummer, Brian McCormack and Michal Dokoupil, whilst 2022 Junior Manx Grand Prix winner Francesco Curinga returns on a second ILR Paton with a third machine being in the hands of German David Datzer who could well prove to be a dark horse for a top six finish.

That applies to Frenchman Jonathan Goetschy, whose been quietly impressing around the Mountain Course and took a strong 12th place in the second race last year.

The two 3-lap Supertwin Races at the 2024 Isle of Man TT Races are scheduled to take place on Tuesday 4th June, sponsored by Metzeler, and Friday 7th June, sponsored by Entire Cover insurance.