40 years of Arai at the Isle of Man TT Races


The Arai helmet is synonymous with motorcycle racing all around the world and none more so than the Isle of Man TT Races where the Official Helmet Partner celebrates its 40th anniversary at the event in 2024.

Joey Dunlop and Brian Reid were the first two riders to officially wear Arai helmets at the 1984 TT and since then a who’s who of racing have gone on to sport them. To celebrate their anniversary, a selection of both TT riders past and current will participate in the ’40 Years of Arai at the TT’ Parade Lap.

Akihito Arai, son of current Arai President and CEO Mitchio Arai, will start the parade with five-time winner Reid leading the field away on the 250cc Loctite Yamaha that he took to victory in the 1992 Junior race - the bike now owned by John McGuinness.

Two-time winners Steve Plater and Cameron Donald will also take part in the lap, Plater on board a BMW M1000R machine, whilst Donald will ride the 2024 Honda Fireblade.

Current TT Rider Liaison Officer Richard ‘Milky’ Quayle, winner of the 2002 Lightweight 400cc race, will ride one of the CBR1000RR Honda Fireblade’s being used this year by the Travelling Marshals with Phillip McCallen,11-time TT winner, also on one of the 2024 Honda Fireblades.

Fan favourite Bruce Anstey, who has continually worn one of the most instantly recognisable Arai helmets adorned with the fluorescent Kiwi bird, will be back on the Island riding a Padgetts Honda Fireblade with current TT star Davey Todd having a change from his usual steeds as he’ll ride BMW’s M1000XR.

The remainder of the Parade Lap will be made up of current TT stars on one of their 2024 race bikes, none more so than 25-time winner Michael Dunlop who’ll be joined by fellow multiple winners Ian Hutchinson as well as Ben and Tom Birchall.

Double British Superbike Champion Josh Brookes, Conor Cummins, Nathan Harrison, Paul Jordan, Ryan and Callum Crowe, Pierre-Yves Bian and Francesco Curinga complete the star-studded line-up.