With two wins from two races at the beginning of TT2010, Padgetts Honda rider Ian Hutchinson was keen to continue his winning streak in the Superstock Race having won the same race a year earlier.

However, he hadn’t reckoned on the determined charge from Ryan Farquhar who set off quickest and led at every timing point on the first lap. A lap of 129.648mph on the KMR Kawasaki gave Farquhar a healthy 6.7 second lead over Michael Dunlop, with Hutchinson back in third.

The second lap saw Farquhar and Hutchinson pull clear of the chasing pack, but it was still Farquhar who was in the ascendancy and a second lap of 129.816mph saw him lead Hutchinson by 8.8 seconds as they came into the pits to refuel. A rapid pit stop by the Padgetts crew saw Hutchinson grab the lead as they started lap three, but Farquhar was back in front at Glen Helen and going into the final lap he led by 5.5 seconds.

However, Hutchinson put in a sensational charge around the final 37.73 mile circuit and with a speed of 130.741mph – the first ever 130mph+ lap in the class – he took the chequered flag and claimed victory by just 1.32 seconds.